Listening to a PR Podcast…(its hard for me to sit still for an hour, but I did it! lol)

Hello World…IceTrey here!

 

So for my Intro to Public Relations course, I had to sit down and listen to a PR Podcast.  I chose to listen to C.C. Chapman’s “Managing the Gray” podcast.  I had no particular reason for choosing this one, other than it being the first one that caught my eye.  The main objective of this podcast is to keep its audience up to date with what is going on in today’s social media.  I must say that so far, they are doing a good job of this.

As I listened to this podcast, I quickly started to realize the multiple uses of certain social media tools that I have been using for a while now.  For example, I have been on facebook since my senior year of high school.  for the first 2-3 years, I only used Facebook as a tool to stay in contact with family and friends, especially as we all left for college.  I gradually started finding ways to use Facebook as more than a social tool, and more of a business tool as well.  As I have been involved in the world of promotions for over 2 years now, I quickly realized that EVERYBODY was on facebook…EVERYBODY!  I started using Facebook as a means to contact a mass amount of people in order to get a certain message across, whether it be about a new artist I am working with, an event coming up, or even to just thank everybody for their continued support.  I thought that’s where it ended…but Mr. Chapman told me otherwise.

Mr. Chapman explained how both, Facebook and Twitter, can be very beneficial in the business worlds.  Twitter gives us the opportunity to easily connect with individuals from all over, especially those with similar interests.  It gives us opportunities to build relationships that may not have been possible without Twitter.  Now that Facebook has the “Fan Page” feature, it is even easier to get messages across to mass amounts of people.

I believe this podcast could be very effective, depending on the listener.  As I mentioned in the title of this post, it is very hard for me to sit down and listen to something like this for an hour; therefore, you would think it wouldn’t be very effective for me…but it actually was.  I was very interested in the material and I knew I would better myself by giving it my full attention, and that is exactly what I did.  I definitely enjoyed this podcast and probably will give another one a shot because of this.

I guess after listening to this podcast, I want to know what’s next?  Technology never fails and always continues to grow and create more opportunities.  What’s next? 

But anyway, that was my podcast experience.  Hmm… could IceTrey host his own Podcast?!? lol

Until Next Time…

~ IceTrey

~ Selfish Entertainment, LLC.

Leave a Reply

