TRIBES

So… when Mrs. Nixon cancelled class one day, she sent us a video entitled “Tribes” by Seth Gordin, an author and public speaker who is devoted to getting voice to the world.  In fact, one of the many books Mr. Gordin wrote is entitled “Tribes” and can be purchased online at AMAZON.COM 

After watching the video on YOU TUBE, I found several points that were not only interesting, but also useful to relate to our Intro to Public Relations course. It’s interesting to think of a blog as a “Tribe” because I have never really thought of it like that before. He also discussed the several uses of a Blog:

  • A means to share your personal feelings and interests.
  • A outlet to network professionally and/or personally. 

Mr. Gordin also gave several good examples of how people can becomes connected via Blogs, including how sports fans can come together and cheer for their favorite teams together. 

One thing that really surprised me is that if Mr. Gordin put alot of emphasis on Blogs.  Honestly, if he didnt give it as much emphasis as he did, he might have lost me! lol  But because he did spend as much time talking about Blogs as he did, he kept my attention and I ultimately enjoyed this video.

My favorite part had to be when he explains about how it is not easy being a leader for fear of failure, but no one gets anywhere without risks.  I feel like this is a statement in which I have lived by for the past few years of my life.

Leave a Reply

