My First Week with Twitter…!

When I first started my PRCA 2330 Intro To Public Relations class, I remember hearing my teacher, Mrs. Barbara Nixon, tell us of the new social phenomenon…TWITTER!  She assured us it would be the next big thing, but after giving it a look, I just wasn’t sure.  It seemed too simple and too basic to have any sort or real effect on today’s society.  I quickly found out that she was right, and I was wrong!  Within hours or creating my TWITTER account, I started receiving email after email informing me of different people following me on Twitter.  Before I knew it, I was being followed by old classmates, current classmates, friends, family, and even a few celebrities.  It was then that I knew that TWITTER really was the next big thing. But wait, how does it work…? 

So as I actually began using my TWITTER account and started updating the world with what’s going on in my life, I quickly found a resemblance to another very popular social network…Facebook!  You see, maybe about a year ago the good people over at Facebook created the ever-so-popular “Status” feature.  This was a simple feature that allowed Facebook users to simply inform the rest of the Facebook community of their current status, state of mind, or simply what’s on their mind.  In my opinion…TWITTER is a glorified and more involved “Status” Feature, with non of the other non-sense to go along with it.

But anyway, I had a very enjoyable week with Twitter.  After I began following several friends within the music industry, I found out about certain video shoots, industry news, and new records that I’m not sure I would have been informed even up to this point.  I also began following a few radio stations within Atlanta, even a few radio personalities.  I quickly found out about various concerts, events, and even something as useful as the current weather in Atlanta.  With my increasing interest in the music and entertainment industries, I have definitely found another tool to put to use!  

Oh, and before I forget… FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER!!!

~ IceTrey

~ Selfish Entertainment, LLC.

Leave a Reply

